Viki LCD

The idea of computer-less 3D printing is very attractive to me and yet there’s still some interfacing to the printer that needs to happen even if computer is not involved. This is very reminiscent of the evolution of laser printers except these days laser printer are sort of regressing back to PC-only display- and button-less interfaces. Viki LCD featured in this Burnsed blog post even makes your 3D printer look and feel like a laser printer of yore – text LCD, menus and the iPod-like (of, this part is new) selection buttons. Makes a great addition to any RAMPS-enabled 3D printer!

burnsed

IMG_0130

Much like the Vision 3D printer, the Viki LCD did not come with any instructions or RAMPS firmware. The following are my notes for how I got it to work. Luckily most of the work was already done by others!

RAMPS 1.4 Connectors

See the RAMPS 1.4 image for exact placement. This RAMPS schematic was also useful to me.

I2C:

  • 5V
  • GND
  • 20
  • 21

AUX-3 (SD Card):

  1. GND
  2. NC
  3. SCK/D52
  4. CS/D53
  5. MISO/D50
  6. MOSI/D51
  7. 5V
  8. CD/D49

ViKi – RAMPS Pinout

The Panucatt pdf for the Viki LCD has nice descriptions of the pins and their functions.

Mapping the Viki LCD to the RAMPS board

Viki Top plug – RAMPS 1.4:

  • 5V – 5V (I2C, +)
  • GND – GND (I2C, -)
  • SDA  – I2C 20 (I2C, 20)
  • SCL –  I2C 21 (I2C, 21)
  • ENC_B -(AUX4, D17) – requires update to pins.h
  • ENC_A – (AUX4, D16) – requires update to pins.h

Viki Bottom…

View original post 311 more words

Leave a Reply

